Research & Benchmarking Agent

Sample research and benchmarking brief

This is a finished run, exactly as your consultants would see it. Read the brief, check every figure against the quoted passage behind it, open the four source documents, and download the client brief and exhibit deck. No sign-in needed.

Run this with your own exhibits

Sample research — example firm, read only

Meridian Crossing Advisors

Management consulting — 185 professionals, 3 offices · US Northeast and Midwest · 4 sources loaded

What margin, pricing and recurring-revenue position is defensible for a 185-person US consulting firm against its named peers, and what would have to change to reach it?

Research brief

Sections

6

Exhibits

4

Quoted citations

70

Status

Approved by the consultant

Summary of findings

The evidence supports reference points, not a validated client target. Meridian's FY2025 operating margin was 11.8%, against a 16.1% size-band median, Northbridge's 18.2% and Castleford's 22.6%. Meridian had no recurring advisory revenue, against a 6% benchmark median and peer shares of 14% at Northbridge and 31% at Castleford. Its realization and revenue per professional were also below benchmark medians. The evidence does not establish a defensible hourly price, attainable target margin or quantified change programme. Those require comparable service economics, harmonized accounting and client-level operating data.

Client deliverables

Market context and size

Confirmed

The report defines management consulting as advisory fee revenue from firms primarily serving commercial and nonprofit clients, excluding statutory audit, tax compliance filing and staffing placement. On that definition, the US market generated $148.7 billion in calendar 2025, up 6.4% from 2024. The evidence does not provide a Northeast and Midwest market size or regional growth rate. Technology and data advisory generated $44.2 billion in 2025, growing 11.3% over 2024, while strategy and corporate advisory generated $38.4 billion, growing 4.1%. Operations and performance improvement generated $31.7 billion, growing 6.8%, while risk, regulatory and controls generated $19.8 billion, growing 5.2%. Human capital and organization generated $14.6 billion, declining 0.4% from 2024. Firms with 50 to 500 professionals generated $27.3 billion in 2025, representing 18.4% of the defined market. Their revenue grew 3.2%, compared with 6.4% for the overall market. Meridian's 185 professionals place it within this size band, but the national band is not a regional addressable-market estimate.

Evidence[1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 57]

Demand drivers and headwinds

Confirmed

Technology modernization and regulatory work feature in buyers' spending intentions. Among 412 surveyed buyers, 61% placed data platform and AI enablement among their top three planned advisory expenditures for 2026, while 44% expected increased spending on risk and controls advisory. These are reported intentions rather than realized market growth. Cost scrutiny increased, with 58% of buyers reporting a rate-card renegotiation in the preceding twelve months, compared with 39% in the 2024 survey. Median blended rates for mid-market advisory rose 1.8% in 2025, which the report describes as below inflation. The report attributes the size band's slower growth to time-and-materials pricing pressure and slower adoption of productized or subscription offerings. Supplier consolidation and internal delivery also constrain external demand. In 2025, 36% of buyers reduced their advisory supplier panels, while 29% reported moving previously external work in-house, most often in analytics and programme management. The supplied evidence does not quantify these forces specifically for Northeast and Midwest buyers.

Evidence[10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16]

Industry economics

Confirmed

The operating study covers 412 US advisory and consulting firms with 50 to 500 professionals in FY2025. Median operating margin was 16.1%, with an interquartile range of 11.8% to 21.0%, while median direct delivery cost was 54% of fee revenue, with an interquartile range of 49% to 59%. Median revenue per professional was $312,000, with an interquartile range of $268,000 to $359,000. Median realization was 89%, with an interquartile range of 84% to 93%, while median billable utilization was 68%, with an interquartile range of 61% to 74%. The utilization denominator is 1,850 standard available hours per professional; Meridian's denominator is not supplied, so direct comparability remains unconfirmed. The evidence does not provide a complete cost structure or harmonized operating-margin accounting policies. Time and materials represented 68% of mid-market advisory revenue in 2025, down from 74% in 2023; fixed fees represented 24% in 2025. Recurring arrangements represented 8% of revenue in the market report, up from 3% in 2023, whereas the operating study reported a firm-level median recurring share of 6%. These measures have different statistical bases and should remain separate. Firms above 15% recurring revenue reported a median operating margin of 21.4%, compared with 14.2% for firms below 5%. Separately, firms above 10% recurring revenue reported median fee growth of 7.9%, against 2.1% for firms with none. These are reported associations, not evidence that changing revenue mix alone causes higher margins or growth.

Evidence[17, 18, 19, 20, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 65]

Competitive landscape

Confirmed

Meridian has three offices in the Northeast and Midwest. Northbridge's four Northeast offices and Castleford's two Midwest offices overlap that stated footprint; Harlan & Price has seven offices nationally, while Verrick's five offices are in the South and West. The evidence does not establish shared clients, head-to-head competition, regional market shares or the peers' sector specialisms. Meridian's 185 professionals compare with 165 at Castleford, 240 at Northbridge, 310 at Verrick and 430 at Harlan & Price. Meridian reported revenue per professional of $257,000, below the benchmark interquartile range of $268,000 to $359,000. Its 11.8% operating margin equalled the benchmark's lower quartile, while its absence of recurring revenue contrasted with retained subscriptions at Northbridge and diagnostic subscriptions and managed retainers at Castleford.

Evidence[21, 22, 25, 27, 28, 33, 34, 37, 39, 40, 49, 51, 57, 58, 62, 66, 69]

Comparable companies

Confirmed

Northbridge reported a 2025 operating margin of 18.2%, up from 16.5% in 2024, and revenue per professional of $325,000, compared with Meridian's $257,000. Retained advisory subscriptions represented 14% of its fee revenue, compared with none at Meridian. Northbridge increased its standard partner rate by 3% in January 2025, whereas Meridian's standard partner rate was unchanged from FY2024. Harlan & Price reported a 2025 operating margin of 14.9%, down from 17.1% in 2024, and revenue per professional of $328,000, compared with Meridian's $257,000. Its recurring share was 5%, compared with none at Meridian. Its realization declined to 87% from 91% in the prior year, while Meridian reported 84% in FY2025. Castleford reported a 2025 operating margin of 22.6%, compared with Meridian's 11.8%, and revenue per professional of $374,000, compared with Meridian's $257,000. Its recurring share was 31%, compared with none at Meridian, and comprised diagnostic subscriptions and managed advisory retainers. Its January 2026 briefing stated that two productized offerings accounted for 38% of new engagements; this is an engagement-count measure, not a revenue share. Verrick reported a 2025 operating margin of 12.4%, down from 13.9% in 2024, and revenue per professional of $298,000, compared with Meridian's $257,000. Its recurring share was not disclosed. Fixed-fee work represented 29% of its engagements, whereas Meridian's reported 19% measures fee revenue, so the figures are not directly comparable.

Evidence[23, 24, 25, 26, 29, 30, 31, 32, 35, 36, 37, 38, 41, 42, 43, 44, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 69]

Implications for the engagement

Confirmed

Meridian's FY2025 fee revenue was $47.51 million, compared with $43.46 million in FY2024, while its operating margin was 11.8%, compared with 13.4% in FY2023. The benchmark median of 16.1%, Northbridge's 18.2% and Castleford's 22.6% are documented margin reference points, not validated client targets. Finance attributes Meridian's margin decline to renewal discounting and increased nonbillable proposal effort. Meridian's realization was 84%, compared with the benchmark median of 89%, and its reported utilization was 64%, compared with 68%, subject to denominator alignment. Its standard partner rate was $625 per hour, unchanged from FY2024; the evidence does not contain comparable absolute peer rates. Establishing a defensible price and quantifying changes in discounting, delivery costs or proposal effort require engagement-level economics rather than applying benchmark gaps mechanically. Meridian derived 81% of FY2025 revenue from time and materials, compared with the market report's 68%, and had no recurring advisory revenue. Recurring reference points include the benchmark median of 6%, Northbridge's 14% and Castleford's 31%, but the evidence does not establish which share Meridian can attain. Median offering-design-to-first-sale time was seven months, with an interquartile range of four to thirteen months, not a client-specific implementation timetable. Meridian's top five clients supplied 47% of FY2025 revenue, and its largest client supplied 16% and has issued an RFP for FY2027 work. The evidence does not quantify the investment, sales conversion, retention, staffing or cost changes needed to reach any reference position. Target selection, causal interpretation and recommendations remain the consultant's responsibility.

Evidence[17, 24, 25, 26, 36, 37, 46, 47, 48, 51, 52, 54, 59, 60, 62, 63, 64, 65, 67, 68, 69, 70]

Exhibits — 4

Market sizing

table · 7 rows

SegmentSizePeriodGrowthSourceCite
Strategy and corporate advisory$38.4bn; USCalendar 2025+4.1% vs 2024Market report, Table 2.1[2]
Operations and performance improvement$31.7bn; USCalendar 2025+6.8% vs 2024Market report, Table 2.1[3]
Technology and data advisory$44.2bn; USCalendar 2025+11.3% vs 2024Market report, Table 2.1[4]
Risk, regulatory and controls$19.8bn; USCalendar 2025+5.2% vs 2024Market report, Table 2.1[5]
Human capital and organization$14.6bn; USCalendar 2025−0.4% vs 2024Market report, Table 2.1[6]
Total defined market$148.7bn; USCalendar 2025+6.4% vs 2024Market report, Table 2.1[7]
Firms with 50–500 professionals$27.3bn; USCalendar 2025+3.2% vs 2024Market report, Section 3[8, 9]

Only national figures are available. The evidence does not cover Northeast and Midwest segment sizes or growth. The firm-size band overlaps the service segments and is not additive to them; the total is a summary row.

Comparable company profiles

table · 4 rows

CompanyFocusSizeNotable metricSourceCite
Northbridge Advisory GroupNortheast; retained subscriptions240 professionals; 4 officesMargin 18.2%; RPP $325k; recurring 14%NAG report 2025, p. 14[21, 22, 23, 24, 25]
Harlan & Price ConsultingUS national; specialty not supplied430 professionals; 7 officesMargin 14.9%; RPP $328k; recurring 5%H&P accounts 2025, note 4[27, 28, 29, 30, 31]
Castleford PartnersMidwest; diagnostics and retainers165 professionals; 2 officesMargin 22.6%; RPP $374k; recurring 31%Castleford briefing, slide 9[33, 34, 35, 36, 37]
Verrick GroupSouth and West; specialty not supplied310 professionals; 5 officesMargin 12.4%; RPP $298k; recurring undisclosedVerrick review 2025, p. 22[39, 40, 41, 42, 43]

All financial metrics are reported for 2025. RPP means revenue per professional. Focus describes disclosed footprint or offering format, not verified industry specialization. Accounting and headcount definitions have not been harmonized.

Benchmark metrics

benchmark · 12 rows

MetricBenchmarkRangeBasisSourceCite
Operating margin16.1% median11.8–21.0% IQRFY2025; US 50–500 professionalsBenchmark study, B1[45, 51]
Revenue per professional$312,000 median$268,000–$359,000 IQRFY2025; US 50–500 professionalsBenchmark study, B1[45, 49]
Direct delivery cost / fee revenue54% median49–59% IQRFY2025; US 50–500 professionalsBenchmark study, B1[45, 50]
Billable utilization68% median61–74% IQRBilled hours / 1,850 hoursBenchmark study, B1 and definition[45, 46, 47]
Realization against standard rates89% median84–93% IQRFY2025; US 50–500 professionalsBenchmark study, B1[45, 48]
Recurring / subscription revenue share6% median0–14% IQRFirm-level share of fee revenueBenchmark study, B3[45, 52]
Margin; recurring share above 15%21.4% medianNot suppliedRecurring-revenue cohortBenchmark study, B3[45, 53]
Margin; recurring share below 5%14.2% medianNot suppliedRecurring-revenue cohortBenchmark study, B3[45, 53]
Offering design to first sale7 months median4–13 months IQRFY2025 study respondentsBenchmark study, B3[45, 54]
At least one productized offering37% of firmsNot suppliedShare of study sampleBenchmark study, B3[45, 55]
Professionals per partner / principal6.4 median4.1–9.0 IQRFY2025; US 50–500 professionalsBenchmark study, B4[45, 56]
Mid-market blended-rate growth+1.8%Not suppliedMedian; 2025 vs 2024Market report, Section 5[14]

IQR means interquartile range, not the full observed range or a recommended target. The operating study covers 412 firms. The market-report rate measure is a separate source. Recurring-revenue cohort comparisons do not establish causality.

Competitive landscape

list · 5 rows

PlayerPositionEvidenceCite
Meridian Crossing AdvisorsNortheast and Midwest; no recurring advisory185 professionals; 3 offices; 11.8% margin[57, 58, 62, 69]
Northbridge Advisory GroupNortheast; retained advisory subscriptions4 offices; 14% recurring; partner rate +3%[22, 25, 26]
Harlan & Price ConsultingNational; declining realization7 offices; realization 87% vs 91%[28, 32]
Castleford PartnersMidwest; productized and recurring offerings31% recurring; productized 38% of new engagements[34, 37, 38]
Verrick GroupSouth and West; increased fixed-fee use5 offices; fixed fee 29% of engagements[40, 44]

This is the named comparison set, not a complete regional competitor census. Position reflects disclosed geography and commercial format. Figures are from 2025 disclosures except Castleford's productized-offering statement in its January 2026 briefing. Head-to-head competition is not established.

Citation trail — 70
  1. [1] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Section 1, Market definition

    “This report defines the US management consulting market as fee revenue billed by firms whose primary activity is advisory work for commercial and non-profit clients, excluding statutory audit, tax compliance filing, and staffing placement revenue.”

  2. [2] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Table 2.1, Strategy and corporate advisory

    “Strategy and corporate advisory: $38.4 billion, up 4.1 percent on 2024.”

  3. [3] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Table 2.1, Operations and performance improvement

    “Operations and performance improvement: $31.7 billion, up 6.8 percent on 2024.”

  4. [4] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Table 2.1, Technology and data advisory

    “Technology and data advisory: $44.2 billion, up 11.3 percent on 2024.”

  5. [5] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Table 2.1, Risk, regulatory and controls

    “Risk, regulatory and controls: $19.8 billion, up 5.2 percent on 2024.”

  6. [6] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Table 2.1, Human capital and organization

    “Human capital and organization: $14.6 billion, down 0.4 percent on 2024.”

  7. [7] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Table 2.1, Total defined market

    “Total defined market: $148.7 billion in 2025, up 6.4 percent on 2024.”

  8. [8] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Section 3, Mid-market firms

    “Firms in the 50 to 500 professional band accounted for $27.3 billion of 2025 fee revenue, or 18.4 percent of the defined market.”

  9. [9] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Section 3, Mid-market firms

    “Revenue in this band grew 3.2 percent in 2025, below the 6.4 percent market rate.”

  10. [10] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Section 3, Explanation of growth gap

    “The report attributes the gap to two factors: pricing pressure on time-and-materials engagements, and slower adoption of productized or subscription offerings relative to the largest twenty firms.”

  11. [11] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Section 4, Driver 1

    “61 percent of buyers surveyed (n=412) named data platform and AI enablement work among their top three planned advisory spends for 2026.”

  12. [12] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Section 4, Driver 2

    “44 percent of buyers expect increased spend on risk and controls advisory.”

  13. [13] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Section 4, Driver 3

    “58 percent of buyers said they had renegotiated at least one advisory rate card in the prior twelve months, up from 39 percent in the 2024 survey.”

  14. [14] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Section 5, Fee compression

    “Median blended rate for mid-market advisory work rose 1.8 percent in 2025, below US CPI for the same period, which the report characterizes as real-terms price decline.”

  15. [15] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Section 5, Buyer consolidation

    “36 percent of buyers reduced their panel of advisory suppliers in 2025.”

  16. [16] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Section 5, Internal capability

    “29 percent of buyers reported moving work previously bought externally to in-house teams, most often in analytics and programme management.”

  17. [17] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Section 6, Time-and-materials revenue

    “Time and materials remained 68 percent of mid-market advisory revenue in 2025, down from 74 percent in 2023.”

  18. [18] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Section 6, Fixed-fee revenue

    “Fixed-fee engagements were 24 percent.”

  19. [19] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Section 6, Recurring revenue

    “Subscription or recurring advisory arrangements were 8 percent, up from 3 percent in 2023.”

  20. [20] US Advisory Market Report 2026 — extract, Meridian Market Institute, Section 6, Recurring revenue and fee growth

    “Firms with more than 10 percent recurring revenue reported median fee growth of 7.9 percent, against 2.1 percent for firms with none.”

  21. [21] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Northbridge, NAG annual report 2025, page 14

    “Professionals: 240.”

  22. [22] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Northbridge, NAG annual report 2025, page 14

    “Offices: 4, all US Northeast.”

  23. [23] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Northbridge, NAG annual report 2025, page 14

    “Revenue per professional: $325,000 (2025).”

  24. [24] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Northbridge, NAG annual report 2025, page 14

    “Operating margin: 18.2 percent (2025), 16.5 percent (2024).”

  25. [25] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Northbridge, NAG annual report 2025, page 14

    “Recurring revenue: 14 percent of fee revenue, described as "retained advisory subscriptions".”

  26. [26] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Northbridge, NAG annual report 2025, page 16

    “Pricing note: page 16 states "standard partner rate increased 3 percent effective January 2025".”

  27. [27] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Harlan & Price, statutory accounts 2025, note 4

    “Professionals: 430.”

  28. [28] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Harlan & Price, statutory accounts 2025, note 4

    “Offices: 7, US national.”

  29. [29] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Harlan & Price, statutory accounts 2025, note 4

    “Revenue per professional: $328,000 (2025).”

  30. [30] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Harlan & Price, statutory accounts 2025, note 4

    “Operating margin: 14.9 percent (2025), 17.1 percent (2024).”

  31. [31] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Harlan & Price, statutory accounts 2025, note 4

    “Recurring revenue: 5 percent of fee revenue.”

  32. [32] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Harlan & Price, statutory accounts 2025, note 4

    “Pricing note: note 4 discloses "realization of 87 percent against standard rates, compared with 91 percent in the prior year".”

  33. [33] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Castleford, investor briefing January 2026, slide 9

    “Professionals: 165.”

  34. [34] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Castleford, investor briefing January 2026, slide 9

    “Offices: 2, US Midwest.”

  35. [35] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Castleford, investor briefing January 2026, slide 9

    “Revenue per professional: $374,000 (2025).”

  36. [36] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Castleford, investor briefing January 2026, slide 9

    “Operating margin: 22.6 percent (2025).”

  37. [37] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Castleford, investor briefing January 2026, slide 9

    “Recurring revenue: 31 percent of fee revenue, split between "diagnostic subscriptions" and "managed advisory retainers".”

  38. [38] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Castleford, investor briefing January 2026, slide 11

    “Pricing note: slide 11 states "two productized offerings now account for 38 percent of new engagements".”

  39. [39] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Verrick, annual review 2025, page 22

    “Professionals: 310.”

  40. [40] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Verrick, annual review 2025, page 22

    “Offices: 5, US South and West.”

  41. [41] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Verrick, annual review 2025, page 22

    “Revenue per professional: $298,000 (2025).”

  42. [42] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Verrick, annual review 2025, page 22

    “Operating margin: 12.4 percent (2025), 13.9 percent (2024).”

  43. [43] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Verrick, annual review 2025, page 22

    “Recurring revenue: not disclosed.”

  44. [44] Comparable company filings — extract, Peer company filings, Verrick, annual review 2025, page 23

    “Pricing note: page 23 notes "increased use of fixed-fee arrangements at client request, now 29 percent of engagements".”

  45. [45] Consulting operating benchmarks 2026 — extract, Consulting Benchmark Council, Sample

    “412 US advisory and consulting firms, 50 to 500 professionals, fiscal year 2025. Figures are medians with interquartile range in brackets.”

  46. [46] Consulting operating benchmarks 2026 — extract, Consulting Benchmark Council, Table B1, Billable utilization

    “Billable utilization: 68 percent [61 – 74].”

  47. [47] Consulting operating benchmarks 2026 — extract, Consulting Benchmark Council, Note on comparability; Table B1 definition

    “Table B1 defines billable utilization as billed hours divided by 1,850 standard available hours per professional.”

  48. [48] Consulting operating benchmarks 2026 — extract, Consulting Benchmark Council, Table B1, Realization

    “Realization against standard rates: 89 percent [84 – 93].”

  49. [49] Consulting operating benchmarks 2026 — extract, Consulting Benchmark Council, Table B1, Revenue per professional

    “Revenue per professional: $312,000 [$268,000 – $359,000].”

  50. [50] Consulting operating benchmarks 2026 — extract, Consulting Benchmark Council, Table B1, Direct delivery cost

    “Direct delivery cost as percent of fee revenue: 54 percent [49 – 59].”

  51. [51] Consulting operating benchmarks 2026 — extract, Consulting Benchmark Council, Table B1, Operating margin

    “Operating margin: 16.1 percent [11.8 – 21.0].”

  52. [52] Consulting operating benchmarks 2026 — extract, Consulting Benchmark Council, Table B3, Recurring revenue

    “Recurring or subscription revenue as percent of fee revenue: 6 percent [0 – 14].”

  53. [53] Consulting operating benchmarks 2026 — extract, Consulting Benchmark Council, Table B3, Recurring revenue and operating margin

    “Firms above 15 percent recurring revenue reported median operating margin of 21.4 percent, against 14.2 percent for firms below 5 percent.”

  54. [54] Consulting operating benchmarks 2026 — extract, Consulting Benchmark Council, Table B3, Time to first sale

    “Median time from offering design to first sale: 7 months [4 – 13].”

  55. [55] Consulting operating benchmarks 2026 — extract, Consulting Benchmark Council, Table B3, Productized offerings

    “Firms with at least one productized offering: 37 percent of sample.”

  56. [56] Consulting operating benchmarks 2026 — extract, Consulting Benchmark Council, Table B4, Talent leverage

    “Professionals per partner or principal: 6.4 [4.1 – 9.0].”

  57. [57] Meridian FY2025 revenue and margin extract, Client finance team, Firm profile, Professionals

    “Professionals: 185.”

  58. [58] Meridian FY2025 revenue and margin extract, Client finance team, Firm profile, Offices

    “Offices: 3 (US Northeast and Midwest).”

  59. [59] Meridian FY2025 revenue and margin extract, Client finance team, Fee revenue by service line, USD thousands, Total

    “Total 39,950 43,460 47,510”

  60. [60] Meridian FY2025 revenue and margin extract, Client finance team, Engagement and pricing notes, Time and materials

    “Time-and-materials engagements were 81 percent of FY2025 fee revenue.”

  61. [61] Meridian FY2025 revenue and margin extract, Client finance team, Engagement and pricing notes, Fixed fee

    “Fixed-fee engagements were 19 percent.”

  62. [62] Meridian FY2025 revenue and margin extract, Client finance team, Engagement and pricing notes, Recurring revenue

    “The firm has no subscription or retained advisory revenue.”

  63. [63] Meridian FY2025 revenue and margin extract, Client finance team, Engagement and pricing notes, Partner rate

    “Standard partner rate: $625 per hour in FY2025, unchanged since FY2024.”

  64. [64] Meridian FY2025 revenue and margin extract, Client finance team, Engagement and pricing notes, Realization

    “Realization against standard rates: 84 percent in FY2025, 88 percent in FY2023.”

  65. [65] Meridian FY2025 revenue and margin extract, Client finance team, Engagement and pricing notes, Utilization

    “Billable utilization: 64 percent in FY2025.”

  66. [66] Meridian FY2025 revenue and margin extract, Client finance team, Engagement and pricing notes, Revenue per professional

    “Revenue per professional: $257,000 in FY2025.”

  67. [67] Meridian FY2025 revenue and margin extract, Client finance team, Client concentration, Top five clients

    “Top five clients represented 47 percent of FY2025 fee revenue.”

  68. [68] Meridian FY2025 revenue and margin extract, Client finance team, Client concentration, Largest client

    “The largest single client represented 16 percent and has issued a request for proposal covering FY2027 work.”

  69. [69] Meridian FY2025 revenue and margin extract, Client finance team, Margin, Operating margin

    “Operating margin: 11.8 percent in FY2025, 13.4 percent in FY2023.”

  70. [70] Meridian FY2025 revenue and margin extract, Client finance team, Margin, Finance explanation

    “Finance attributes the decline to rate discounting on renewals and increased non-billable proposal effort.”

Open questions the evidence does not answer
  • Request Northeast and Midwest management-consulting revenue and growth data by service segment, using the report's market definition; the supplied evidence covers only the US market.
  • Request Meridian's service-line taxonomy and engagement descriptions, especially for interim leadership, to reconcile client revenue with the market definition's staffing-placement exclusion.
  • Request full peer filings and offering descriptions, including industry mix, client size, regional revenue and head-to-head bid records, to validate competitive and service-mix comparability.
  • Request Meridian and peer operating-margin accounting policies, including partner compensation, owner distributions, subcontractors, overhead allocation and exceptional items.
  • Request Meridian's engagement-level revenue, delivery payroll, subcontractor costs, write-offs, scope changes and allocated overhead by service line, office and pricing model.
  • Request Meridian's utilization definition and billed-hour records, together with average full-time-equivalent headcount definitions for Meridian and peers, to align utilization and revenue-per-professional measures.
  • Request Meridian's complete rate cards, invoiced rates, discounts, renewal concessions and realization by grade, service and client, plus comparable absolute peer prices and buyer willingness-to-pay evidence.
  • Request proposal hours, bid costs, win rates, sales-cycle lengths and renewal economics to test finance's explanation of increased nonbillable proposal effort.
  • Request a recurring-offering feasibility pack covering eligible client needs, proposed services, contract terms, delivery obligations, development costs, sales pipeline and staffing requirements.
  • Request peer recurring-revenue definitions, contract duration, renewal rates, churn and offering-level margins, including Verrick's undisclosed recurring share.
  • Request the benchmark study's cohort sizes, service-mix controls and detailed methodology for recurring-revenue comparisons before treating the observed margin and growth associations as explanatory.
  • Request the largest client's FY2027 RFP, account profitability, renewal assumptions and replacement pipeline, together with concentration scenarios.
  • Request a finance-approved margin bridge and implementation model separating price, realization, utilization, staffing, overhead, offering investment and revenue-mix effects; the evidence does not quantify the changes needed to reach a target position.

Run Your Own Benchmarking This Week.

Create an account, load market reports, filings and client figures, and get a sourced brief with every number traceable.